Of Running and Reflecting

Since our time-in for this contingency schedule is still 9 am, and since our class time is from 12:15 pm to 4:30 pm, and since today is the very first day of classes for my Grade 5 students (andaming “since”, ano?), I decided to do my usual Tuesday run this morning instead of after work. As early as now, I am foreseeing I’ll be down with exhaustion from entertaining moderating my 10th batch of students this first day of classes. Furthermore, research says (what research? :p) that a quick dose of morning exercise will enable one’s body to release more energy to be used throughout the day. I decided to do my usual 7-kilometer route around our campus.

Gone are the days that I was a competitive runner, unlike my high school days when I competed for my high school’s varsity track and field team. Right now, my running is more of a lifestyle, keeping my weight in check and maintaining my fitness level. I’ve come to treat myself as more of your average leisure runner – not your podium finisher hardcore runner, but not as a running newbie either. As much as possible, I enjoy all my runs, especially the trail runs I join, taking snapshots of the scenery and flora and fauna here, there and everywhere. So this morning, allow me to let you indulge in some of the pictures I’ve taken while running. 🙂

Driveway leading to San Jose Seminary and Loyola School of Theology
Driveway leading to San Jose Seminary and Loyola School of Theology
Statue of San Jose Manggagawa
Statue of San Jose Manggagawa
Another angle of San Joe Manggagawa as background of the beautiful red santan flowers
Another angle of San Joe Manggagawa as background of the beautiful red santan flowers
Panoramic view of Marikina City from Loyola School of Theology
Panoramic view of Marikina City from Loyola School of Theology
Either you could park your vehicle here temporarily, or this is a 16-year-long (and much more) temporary parking area.. 2000 ako pumasok nung college dito, hanggang ngayon, temporary pa rin??!!
Either you could park your vehicle here temporarily, or this is a 16-year-long (and much more) temporary parking area.. 2000 ako pumasok nung college dito, hanggang ngayon, temporary pa rin??!!
Mr. Sun peeking behind the Church of the Gesu
Mr. Sun peeking behind the Church of the Gesu
Get a life! Or rather, hundred lives!
Get a life! Or rather, hundred lives!
Flowers!!
Flowers!!
Jackstones, anyone?
Jackstones, anyone?
The Science teacher in me can't help but to stop, not to sell these pretty flowers, but to identify the stamen, pistil, and other flower parts! Haha!
The Science teacher in me can’t help but to stop, not to sell these pretty flowers, but to identify the stamen, pistil, and other flower parts! Haha!

The school campus is such a beautiful place (especially during Sundays when there is virtually no vehicle in existence!), much more the world. The mountains and falls and places I’ve been to and want to go to makes me all the more giddy to explore the world. And as such, I think it’s just obvious that there are so many things to live for.

Stepdad underwent the knife last night to operate his ruptured cerebral aneurysm. To cut the long story short, the operation went well, although he still has to stay in the hospital to recover. How long, we don’t know, but the family is praying that it would be only sweet and short.

Nonetheless, the familiar scene of my own father lying on his deathbed almost 20 years ago came back rushing. As per my research, the effects of a ruptured aneurysm may be as mild as Ivory soap (haha endorsement ba?)and as extreme as death. Admittedly, I was not ready for another death in the family. I admit that I was not as close to stepdad as the rest of my biological siblings, but I respect him as my mother’s second husband, and the father of my beloved half-siblings. So there we were in the waiting room, praying for a miracle, hoping all would be well. And thank you God for hearing our prayers.

Life is so short. That has been said, all we need to do is look at our current lifestyle, make a simple check, and if needed, as the trending buzzword of our school say right now, do a retrofitting, if not for ourselves, for our loved ones. There are things worth dying for, but I guess, there are more things worth living for.

PS Iba talaga nagagawa kapag nagrereflect habang tumatakbo. Hehe!

 


Follow me in Strava and Instagram!

Leave a Reply

